Regular School Board Meeting Monday, March 17, 2025

APPROVED

1. Opening Items

1.1 Call to Order

The March 17, 2025, regular school board meeting was called to order by School Board Clerk, Sarah Williams at 5:31

1.2 Roll Call

Members present: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson,

Caitlin Penhollow Members absent: none

1.3 Confirmation of Meeting Posting

Confirmation of meeting notice posted to designated posting locations by school board secretary.

1.4 Approval of Agenda

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by James Defoe, to approve agenda with the addition of Referendum Update to the agenda under old business.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

1.5 Land Acknowledgement Statement

The Land Acknowledge Statement was read by School Board Clerk, Sarah Williams.

1.6 Approval of Meeting Minutes

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to approve the meeting minutes of the February 17, 2025, regular school board meeting, March 10, 2025, special school board meetings, as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

1.7 Public Comments

The following individuals addressed the Board under public comments -

1)Rosa Karl regarding Title IX policy; 2) Laura Comer regarding Title IX policy; 3) Dana Churness regarding Title IX policy; 4) Wylder Moriarty regarding Title IX policy; 5) Mike Mondloch regarding Title IX policy; 6) Renee Papesh regarding Title IX policy; 7) Cathy Smith regarding Title IX policy

2. Board Reports

- 2.1 Finance Committee
- 2.2 Policy Committee
- 2.3 Buildings & Grounds Committee

3. Administrative Reports

- 3.1 District Administrator Report
- 3.2 Finance Manager Report
- 3.3 Buildings and Grounds Report
- 3.4 Elementary Principal Report
- 3.5 MS/HS Principal Report
- 3.6 Director of Special Education and Student Services Report
- 3.7 IT Systems Administrator Report

3.8 Consider Administrative Reports

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Elena Erickson, to accept administrative reports 3.1 - 3.7 as presented. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

4. Financial Accounting

4.1 Vouchers

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to approve vouchers for February totaling \$1,244,888.69 as presented.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

5. Featured Communications

5.1 Community Donation

Discussion: Donation from Wonderstate Coffee, Inc to the Immersion Program of \$1,962.30. Donation dollars were connected to the company's recent t-shirt sales.

5.2 Community Member Letter to the Board

Discussion: Letter from Paul Delmain to the WIAA in support of trans girls participating in girls sports was shared with the board.

6. Old Business

6.1 2025 Spring School Board Election Update

7. New Business

7.1 Consider Recommendations Regarding Title IX Policies

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by Sarah Williams, to approve 1st reading of Policy 2266 revision as presented. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.2 Appoint Rep. to Northern School District Trust (NSDT)

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by Elena Erickson, to approve Randi Johnson as the NSDT Representative. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.3 Consider Cost Estimate for Early College Credit Program - Fall 2025 Semester

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by James Defoe, to approve cost estimate for Fall Semester 2025-2026 school year as presented.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.4 Consider 2024-2025 Bayfield E4E/ACP Plan

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by Dionne Johnston, to table the 2024-2025 Bayfield E4E/ACP Plan as presented. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

- 7.5 Consider Policy 0100 Revision Definitions
- 7.6 Consider Policy 2460.03 Revision Independent Educational Evaluation (IEE)
- 7.7 Consider Policy 8120 Revision Volunteers
- 7.8 Consider Policy 8330 Revision Student Records
- 7.9 Consider Policy Revisions

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Sarah Williams, to approve 1st reading, waive 2nd reading of policy revisions 7.5 - 7.8 as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.10 Referendum Update

Discussion: Kevin Stranberg provided a referendum update to board members and other attendees on the two recent community information sessions. Approximately 25 attendees at each of the sessions, held in Bayfield and Red Cliff. The LaPointe community information session is scheduled for tomorrow at the LaPointe Elementary School.

7.11 Future Agenda Items

Discussion: Update to the E4E/ACP Plan document requested; continued work on Title IX policy language requested; budget information provided at all committee and board level meetings moving forward

8. Executive Session

8.1 Adjourn to Executive Session in Accordance with Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(c)consider the employment, promotion, compensation, or performance-evaluation data of any employee.

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to adjourn to executive session at 6:38 PM in accordance with Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(c)consider the employment, promotion, compensation, or performance-evaluation data of any employee.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

- 8.2 (c) Consider Hiring Recommendation Head Middle School Track & Field Coach
- 8.3 (c) Consider Hiring Recommendation Athletic Director
- 8.4 (c) Consider Hiring Recommendation Interim High School Baseball Coach
- 8.5 (c) Consider Contract Preliminary Nonrenewal Notice
- 8.6 (c) Evaluation of the District Administrator
- 8.7 Reconvene in Open Session

9. Closing Items

- 9.1 Announcement of / Action on Items from Closed Session
 - 8.2 (c) The hire of Magdalen Dale as the Head Middle School Track & Field Coach was approved.
 - 8.3 (c) The hire of Daryl DePerry as the Athletic Director for the remainder of the 2024-25 school year was approved.
 - 8.4 (c) The hire of Theodore Adams as the Interim High School Baseball Coach was approved.
 - 8.5 (c) Action was taken to approve one preliminary nonrenewal notice.
 - 8.6 (c) No action taken.

9.2 Adjournment

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Caitlin Penhollow, to adjourn meeting at 7:21 PM.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson, Caitlin Penhollow Final Resolution: Motion Carried

	Keeley Johnson Recording School Board Secretary
Approve:	
Esme Martinson	
Board President	
Approve:	
Sarah Williams	
Board Clerk	