Special School Board Meeting Tuesday, April 16, 2024

APPROVED

1. Opening Items

1.1 Call to Order

The April 16, 2024 special school board meeting was called to order by School Board President, Nicole Boyd at 4:35 PM.

1.2 Roll Call

Members present: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Tourdot, Kylie Vadnais, James Defoe, Dionne Johnston

1.3 Confirmation of Meeting Posting

Confirmation of meeting notice posted to designated posting locations by school board secretary.

1.4 Approval of Agenda

Motion by Sarah Tourdot, second by Esme Martinson, to approve agenda as presented. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Tourdot, Kylie Vadnais, James Defoe, Dionne Johnston Final Resolution: Motion Carried

1.5 Land Acknowledgement Statement

The Land Acknowledge Statement was read by School Board President, Nicole Boyd.

Certificate of commendation and acknowledgment of gratitude and thanks given to Kylie Vadnais for her time of service on the Bayfield Board of Education.

1.6 Public Comments

The following individuals addressed the Board under public comments -

1) Nick DePerry regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming; 2) Laura Pederson regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming; 3) Marvin Defoe regarding history of the school and diversity; 4) Wenipashtaabe regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming; 5) Joe Montano regarding Ojibwe immersion school; 6) Mark Gokee regarding Ojibwe immersion programming; 7) Cathy Smith regarding immersion programming; 8) Alli Grabko regarding immersion programming; 9) Carolyn Gouge-Powless regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming; 10) Misty Nordin regarding immersion programming; 11) Ziigwanikwe regarding language immersion program; 12) Zack LaRonge regarding Ojibwe immersion; 13) Scooter Charette regarding immersion programming; 14) Kianna Bear regarding Ojibwe language immersion; 15) Keller Paap regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming; 17) Jeannie Bukholtz regarding Ojibwe language immersion programming

2. Old Business

2.1 Consider Draft Community Survey

Discussion: Prior to opening the survey to the community board requesting further information with more options for the LaPointe school and plan for community input.

Motion by Sarah Tourdot, second by Esme Martinson, to table community survey. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Tourdot, Kylie Vadnais, James Defoe, Dionne Johnston Final Resolution: Motion Carried

3. New Business

3.1 Consider Ojibwe Language Immersion Program

Discussion: Next steps will include the posting of one elementary immersion teacher position and one elementary immersion aide position.

Motion by Sarah Tourdot, second by Nicole Boyd, to approve implementation of the Ojibwe Language Immersion Program with a September 2024 start date.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Tourdot, Kylie Vadnais, James Defoe, Dionne Johnston

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

4. Closing Items

4.1 Adjournment

Motion by Esme Martinson, second by Dionne Johnston, to adjourn meeting at 7:14 PM Aye: Nicole Boyd, Esme Martinson, Sarah Tourdot, Kylie Vadnais, James Defoe, Dionne Johnston Final Resolution: Motion Carried

	Keeley Johnson Recording School Board Secretary
Approve:	,
Nicole Boyd	
Board President	
Approve:	
Sarah Tourdot	
Board Clerk	