Regular School Board Meeting Monday, February 17, 2025

APPROVED

1. Opening Items

1.1 Call to Order

The February 17, 2025, regular school board meeting was called to order by School Board President, Nicole Boyd at 5:30 PM

1.2 Roll Call

Members Present: Nicole Boyd, Dionne Johnston, Jim Defoe, Elena Erickson

Members Absent: Esme Martinson, Sarah Williams, Ray DePerry

1.3 Confirmation of Meeting Posting

Confirmation of meeting notice posted to designated posting locations by school board secretary.

1.4 Approval of Agenda

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to approve agenda as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

1.5 Land Acknowledgement Statement

The Land Acknowledge Statement was read by School Board President, Nicole Boyd.

1.6 Approval of Meeting Minutes

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Elena Erickson, to approve the meeting minutes of the January 27, 2025, regular school board meeting, as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

1.7 Public Comments

The following individuals addressed the Board under public comments -

1)Lauren Schuppe regarding the referendum; 2) Kaite Bartyn regarding referendum materials

Sarah Williams arrived at 5:34 PM

2. Board Reports

- 2.1 Finance Committee
- 2.2 Policy Committee
- 2.3 Buildings & Grounds Committee
- 2.4 CESA 12 Board of Control
- 2.5 Wisconsin State Education Convention

3. Administrative Reports

- 3.1 District Administrator Report
- 3.2 Finance Manager Report
- 3.3 Buildings and Grounds Report
- 3.4 Elementary Principal Report

- 3.5 MS/HS Principal Report
- 3.6 Director of Special Education and Student Services Report
- 3.7 IT Systems Administrator Report
- 3.8 Consider Administrative Reports

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Elena Erickson, to accept administrative reports 3.1 - 3.7 as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

4. Financial Accounting

4.1 Vouchers

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to approve vouchers for January totaling \$642,797.60 as presented.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

5. Featured Communications

5.1 Polar Plunge Fundraiser

Discussion: Presentation by Eric Iversen on his proposal to take over the planning and facilitation of the annual polar bear plunge previously organized by the Bayfield Rec Center.

Motion by Elena Erickson, second by James Defoe, to support the Polar Plunge fundraiser and sponsor the pavilion rental fee.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

6. Old Business

6.1 Referendum Next Steps

Motion by Sarah Williams, second by Elena Erickson, to approve the letter of agreement with Kraus-Anderson as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Nay: Dionne Johnston

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

6.2 2025 Spring School Board Election Update

7. New Business

7.1 Consider 2025-2026 School Year Calendar

Motion by Sarah Williams, second by Dionne Johnston, to approve the 2025-2026 school calendar as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

- 7.2 Consider Policy 2413 Revision Health Education
- 7.3 Consider Policy 5517 Revision Student Anti-Harassment
- 7.4 Consider Policy 5610 Revision Suspension and Expulsion
- 7.5 Consider Policy 6325 Revision Procurement Federal Grants/Funds
- 7.6 Consider Policy 6610 Revision Nondistrict-Supported Student Activity Accounts
- 7.7 Consider Policy 8700 Lactating Employees
- 7.8 Consider Policy Revisions

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by Elena Erickson, to approve 1st reading, waive 2nd reading of policy revisions 7.2 - 7.7 as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.9 Consider Staff Retirement

Motion by Sarah Williams, second by Elena Erickson, to approve Ron Borchers' letter of retirement as presented. Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.10 Consider Letter of Resignation - School Board Member

Motion by Sarah Williams, second by Dionne Johnston, to approve Ray DePerry's letter of resignation as presented.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.11 Vacant Board Position Discussion

Motion by Nicole Boyd, second by Elena Erickson, to approve to appoint Caitlin Penhollow to fill vacant board position until the April 2025 spring election.

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

7.12 Future Agenda Items

8. Executive Session

8.1 Adjourn to Executive Session in Accordance with Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(c)consider the employment, promotion, compensation, or performance-evaluation data of any employee.

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to adjourn to executive session at 6:38 PM in accordance with Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(c)consider the employment, promotion, compensation, or performance-evaluation data of any employee.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Sarah Williams, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Final Resolution: Motion Carried

Sarah Williams left at 6:38 PM

- 8.2 (c) Consider Hiring Recommendation Summer School Coordinator
- 8.3 (c) Consider Hiring Recommendation Home School Coordinator/Tribal Community School Liaison
- 8.4 Personnel Updates
- 8.5 Reconvene in Open Session

9. Closing Items

- 9.1 Announcement of / Action on Items from Closed Session
 - 8.2 Motion to hire Dusty LaFernier as the summer school coordinator was approved.
 - 8.3 Motion to hire Jared Blanche as the home school coordinator/tribal community school liaison was approved.
 - 8.4 No action taken.
- 9.2 Adjournment

Motion by Dionne Johnston, second by James Defoe, to adjourn meeting 7:09 PM

Aye: Nicole Boyd, Dionne Johnston, James Defoe, Elena Erickson

Not Present at Vote: Sarah Williams Final Resolution: Motion Carried

	Keeley Johnson Recording School Board Secretary
Approve:	
Nicole Boyd	
Board President	
Approve:	
Sarah Williams	
Board Clerk	